# North Yorkshire County Council

# Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee – 24<sup>th</sup> June 2022

### Membership

# Report by the Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

#### 1.0 Purpose of Report

1.1 With this being the first meeting of the Committee since the County Council elections, this report states the Membership of the Committee and asks Members to formally approve Anna Kirkham as a Parent Governor Representative on the Committee.

#### 2.0 Introduction/background

- 2.1 At its Annual General Meeting on18th May, the County Council appointed sixteen Members of the Council to this Committee. The County Council also appointed Councillor Heather Phillips as Vice-Chair. It did not appoint a Chair. Only the County Council can appoint the Chair. Therefore, that appointment will be made at its next meeting on 20<sup>th</sup> July 2022.
- 2.2 The Committee also comprises nine Members, who are not Councillors, from a range of backgrounds. There is currently one vacancy for a Non-Conformist Church Representative.
- 2.3 Since the last meeting of the Committee, Anna Kirkham has been nominated as a Parent Governor Representative. The Committee is asked to formally approve her as a Member.
- 2.4 The full Membership is set out in the Appendix to the report.

#### 3.0 Recommendation

- 3.1 The Committee is asked to:
  - a) note its Membership: and
  - b) formally approve the appointment of Anna Kirkham as a Parent Governor Representative on the Committee.

Report Author: Patrick Duffy, Principal Democratic Services Scrutiny Officer

County Hall, Northallerton

May 2022

Background papers relied upon in the preparation of this report - None

COUNTY COUNCILLORS (16)		
Name	Political Group	Electoral Division
Alyson Baker	Conservative	Hillside and Raskelf
Barbara Brodigan	Liberal Democrat	Ripon Ure Bank and Spa
Stephanie Duckett	Labour	Barlby and Riccall
Bridget Fortune	Conservative	Hutton Rudby and Osmotherley
Nathan Hull	Conservative	Washburn and Birstwith
David Jeffels	Conservative	Derwent Valley and Moor
Tom Jones	Conservative	Scotton and Lower Wensleydale
Janet Jefferson	North Yorkshire Independent	Castle
Cliff Lunn	Conservative	Thorpe Willoughby and Hambleton
John Mann	Conservative	Oatlands and Pannel
Heather Phillips Vice- Chair	Conservative	Seamer
Kirsty Poskitt	Independent	Tadcaster
John Ritchie	Labour	Woodlands
Mike Schofield	Liberal Democrat	Harlow and St. Georges
Dave Whitfield	Green Party	Sowerby and Topcliffe
Peter Wilkinson	Conservative	Romanby

MEMBERS OTHER THAN COUNTY COUNCILLORS (9)		
Name	Representing	
Voting		
Andrew Smith	Church of England	
Emma Higgins	Roman Catholic Church	
Vacancy	Non-Conformist Church	
Anna Kirkham	Parent Governor	
Tom Cavell-Taylor	Parent Governor	
Non voting		
Stephen Maltby	Primary Teacher Representative	
Ross Strachan	Secondary Teacher Representative	
David Sharp	Voluntary Sector	
David Watson	Voluntary Sector	